B3: Brouwer Trio

B3: Brouwer Trio
by Contra Vent i Fusta
by Contra Vent i Fusta
by Contra Vent i Fusta


Georgina Derbez


Flaix Moció - Miguel Ángel Berbis
  • country:Spain
  • region:Valencia
  • style(s):Electronic, Contemporary
  • label:not signed
  • type:Trio
  • gender:male, female
  • instrumentation:electronic, string, piano
  • artist submitted by:B3: Brouwer Trio

Line up

  • Carlos Apellániz (piano)
  • Elena Solanes (violoncello)
  • Jenny Guerra (violin )
  • Miguel Ángel Berbis (electronics)


The piano trio has been a conduit for classical composers’ most charged material, where Dvořák, Ravel, Smetana and Brahms produced some of their most powerful works. B3: Brouwer Trio is a Spanish group built on this tradition, harnessing maximum energy from the fusion of piano, violin and cello. The group – violinist Jenny Guerra, cellist Elena Solanes and pianist Carlos Apellániz – is named after Cuban composer and guitarist Leo Brouwer, a frequent collaborator of theirs.

Since their inception in 2000, B3: Brouwer Trio have included Spanish and Latin American repertoire alongside “everything else.” Pushing challenging contemporary music to the fore has given B3: Brouwer Trio a singular identity in the chamber music world. They have premiered dozens of works, some incorporating dance, painting, theatre, electronics and other media. The trio have proven this chamber music format is virtually inexhaustible, from old masters to young upstarts.

In Classical Next they will perform three pieces of composers that have been key pieces in the development of the trio:

José Javier Peña-Aguayo | Fronteras Líquidas (2017) Piano trio, video and electronics | Images and video by Ricard Carbonell

Georgina Derbéz | Trio II. De Ser Intangible (2017) | Piano trio and video | Video by Sebastián Torroella based on Sandra Pani's works.

Miguel Ángel Berbis | Flaix-Moció (2017) Piano trio, electronics and illumination system


B3: Brouwer Trio