Hiroaki Takenouchi

  • country:
    United Kingdom
  • region:
    Northern Europe
  • style(s):
    • Contemporary
    • Classical Music
  • label:
  • type:
  • gender:
  • instrumentation:
  • artist submitted by:

Heralded by The Times as “just the sort of champion the newest of new music needs, while being praised as “impeccable in his pianism and unfailing in his idiomatic grasp” by Gramophone, Takenouchi’s curiosity and a natural penchant
for integrity makes his playing and vast repertoire unique amongst his generation of pianists: his love for the music of classical masters- particularly Haydn,Beethoven and Chopin – sits side by side with his passion for the music of Medtner and Rachmaninov, lesser-known British composers such as Sterndale Bennett and Parry, and the contemporary repertoire.

As a soloist, he has recently appeared on many concert platforms including the Wigmore Hall, Tokyo Opera City, the South Bank Centre. He has also performed at festivals in Bath, Cheltenham and Salzburg and given recitals in the UK, Japan, Austria, Germany, Switzerland, Portugal, Italy and Canada. His future engagements will take him even further to the Far East, including performances in Singapore and Vietnam. His more unusual recent appearances include the Rarities of Piano Repertoire Festival in Husum (Germany) and the BBC Four documentary The Prince and the Composer on the life and music of Parry alongside HRH The Prince of Wales.

Hiroaki's discography includes Cosmos Haptic: Contemporary Piano Music from Japan (LORELT) as well as the world première recordings of works by
James Dillon (NMC), Edwin Roxburgh (NMC) and Jeremy Dale Roberts(LORELT). 2012 saw two further releases: two piano arrangements of Delius’s
orchestral works (SOMM with Simon Callaghan), and a highly acclaimed disc of piano concertos by Catoire and Sherwood (another world première recording) with the Royal Scottish National Orchestra (Dutton Epoch).

Hiroaki Takenouchi's performance at Classical Next is supported by PRS for Music Foundation(PRSF), UK Trade and Investment(UKTI), and Arts Council England.



Hiroaki Takenouchi


photo by Benjamin Ealovegaphoto by Jean-Baptiste Millotphoto by Jean-Baptiste MillotBenjamin EalovegaPRS for Music Foundation – British Music Abroad



Sherwood Piano Concerto No 2

Allegro (Audio clip courtesy of Dutton Epoch(


Rain Tree Sketch II

Toru Takemitsu


Sonata in C minor, Beethoven


6 Etude - No.6 Tempo giusto e deciso

Edwin Roxburgh



Sachiyo Tsurumi

Please wait! Loading in progress...please wait! upload in progress... it can take a while - depending on your internet connection