"Piano Works" - Joep Franssens

Joep Franssens
  • artist:Joep Franssens
  • featured artist:Ralph van Raat
  • release year:2015
  • style(s):Contemporary, Classical Music
  • country:Belgium
  • formats:CD (Compact Disc),
  • record submitted by:Quintessence / Etcetera Records
  • label:ETCETERA Records
  • publisher:ETCETERA Records
  •   buy this record

The Gift of Song (1994) for two pianos can be seen as one of the most characteristic works of Joep Franssens. Within it, all the elements that make his musical language so unique can be heard. The first and perhaps most striking element is the work’s length: with a duration of almost fifty minutes, this piece could obtain its significant position within the existing repertoire almost by sheer stamina alone.

Winterchild (1996) is of a completely different character, though no less typical of Joep Franssens. Possibly one of the most personal and autobiographical compositions in his oeuvre, this work seems, despite its very tight tonal structure, to lack any rigid constructivist principles.

Ralph van Raat