Ragazze Quartet


Release April 2015

On Česko we go on a musical journey across Europe to the extraordinary land of Bohemia, the homeland of two composers we have come to love so much. It doesn't seem to matter that we hardly know their country: the indescribable energy of the music, with its folk melodies and harmonies, revealing the essence of a nation steeped in a deep cultural history, takes us there instantly. These composers are the much celebrated and revered Antonín Dvořák, along with the younger and lesser-known Ervín Schulhoff, whose life and career was tragically cut short by the Nazi regime. Both were masters in harnessing the old to the new, fusing a rich musical heritage with the influence of new worlds. Their works take us through the full range of emotions, from the tranquil to the fiery, from the elated to the melancholic. A reflection of human life.

Erwin Schulhoff
1894 – 1942
String Quartet no.1 (1924)
Presto con fuoco
Allegretto con moto e con malinconia grotesca
Allegro giocoso alla slovaca
Andante molto sostenuto

Esquisses de Jazz (1927; originally for piano, arranged for Ragazze by Leonard Evers)
Black Bottom

Antonín Dvořák
String Quartet no.13 in G-major, opus 106 (1895)
Allegro moderato
Adagio ma non troppo
Molto vivace
Finale: Andante sostenuto - Allegro con fuoco