"en hommage: Józef Koffler" - Daniel Wnukowski

Daniel Wnukowski
Jozef Koffler: The First Polish Dodecaphonic Composer


3rd Movement from Jozef Koffler's Piano Concerto.
These are just preview samples. You need a valid account and be logged in to hear the full tracks
  • artist:Daniel Wnukowski
  • featured artist:Daniel Wnukowski
  • region:Berlin
  • release year:2018
  • style(s):20th Century, Classical Music
  • country:Germany
  • formats:CD (Compact Disc),
  • record submitted by:Wnukowski, Daniel
  • label:eda records
  •   buy this record


Polish-Ukrainian composer Józef Koffler (1896–1944) is considered one of the most important representatives of the Second Viennese School before the outbreak of World War II. After studies in Vienna, he quickly established himself in the European modern music scene. As the first professor of atonal and dodecaphonic compositional techniques in Lwów he contributed earlier than others to the dissemination of Schoenberg’s teaching and aesthetics. Five works by Koffler are presented here as world premiere recordings. For the first time ever some of his brilliant symphonic music can be heard on CD: his Piano Concerto and his 2nd Symphony, in which he produced an original synthesis of neoclassicism and dodecaphony. In conjunction with the series Poland Abroad, eda records pays its respects with this third production in its en hommage series to a great Polish composer who became a victim of the Nazi terror, and whose outstanding works await rediscovery to the present day.

Fredrika Brillembourg: mezzo-soprano / Daniel Wnukowski: piano / Christoph Slowinski: piano / Polish String Quartet Berlin (Tomasz Tomaszewski: violin / Piotr Prysiażnik: violin / Sebastian Sokół: viola / Maryjka Pstrokońska-Nawratil: Cello) / Polish Sinfonia Iuventus Orchestra: Christoph Slowinski: conductor