"Bastard Etno" - Afenginn

Front cover by Jakob Bendix


These are just preview samples. You need a valid account and be logged in to hear the full tracks
  • artist:Afenginn
  • featured artist:Afenginn
  • region:Scandinavia
  • release year:2010
  • style(s):East European, Scandinavian
  • country:Denmark
  • formats:Audio File / Digital, CD (Compact Disc), LP / Vinyl,
  • record posted by:Afenginn
  • label:Westpark Music
  • publisher:Westpark Music
  •   buy this record


Our fourth album, Bastard Etno, was recorded pretty soon after Reptilica Polaris. We wanted an album more convenient to tour with than the big production needed for Reptilica and with a new record label and great economical support from Danish Arts Council in the back we decided to put out a record for the international market.

With Aske as a new man onboard and extensive tour activity, we hadn’t been focusing on working on new material and decided to record a bunch of our all time live favourites, as well as three brand new tunes. For the first time we wanted to make an album with only us five on, no guests and recorded as live as possible. Bastard Etno is captured on a 24-track tape machine at Granny Studios in the beautiful Dronningmølle in the northern coast of Zeeland. The recordings went very fast and easy, only one week to track the whole album. This was a great experience after working for three months on the last album.

The album was released in November 2009 in Denmark and in January 2010 worldwide by Westpark Music. Bastard Etno received a Danish Music Award for “Best World Album” and is our first album available on vinyl.