Genevieve Lacey

chair of board, independent artist


Genevieve Lacey is a recorder virtuoso, serial collaborator and artistic director, with a significant recording catalogue and a career as an international soloist. She’s commissioned and premiered works by composers as diverse as Liza Lim, Elena Kats-Chernin, Brett Dean, Erkki-Sven Tuur, Lou Bennett, Jan Bang, Christian Fennesz, Ben Frost, Andrea Keller, Hollis Taylor and Nico Muhly. Genevieve also creates large-scale collaborative projects, recent examples including Pleasure Garden (a kinetic sound sculpture), 1-Infinity (a music-dance piece with Jun Tian Fang, Beijing Dance Theatre, Dance North and Gideon Obarzanek), Life in Music (a 5-part radio series, written, composed and narrated by Genevieve), Namatjira (a theatre piece, and documentary film).

Her wide-ranging musical interests have seen her representing Australian culture with a performance at the Lindau International Convention of Nobel Laureates, playing for the Queen in Westminster Abbey, playing as a concerto soloist in the BBC Proms, making music in a prison in remote Western Australia, and at the opening night of the London Jazz Festival. Her repertoire spans ten centuries and long-term collaborators include filmmaker Sophie Raymond, the Australian Chamber Orchestra, Danish pipe and tabor player Poul Høxbro, theatre maker Scott Rankin, and singer-songwriter Paul Kelly.

Genevieve’s work has won ARIAs, a Helpmann, Australia Council, Freedman and Churchill Fellowships and Outstanding Musician, Melbourne Prize for Music. She holds degrees (including a doctorate) in music and English literature from universities in Melbourne, Switzerland and Denmark.

Genevieve is Chair of the Australian Music Centre board, Artistic Director of FutureMakers and Artistic Advisor to UKARIA. In 2018, she is Melbourne Recital Centre's Artist in Residence, and in 2016-17 was a member of the Classical Next jury.

participating in

  • Classical:NEXT 2018
  • Classical:NEXT 2017
  • Classical:NEXT 2016
  • Classical:NEXT 2015