"Opera Breve" - Philippe Quint & Lily Maisky

Philippe Quint & Lily Maisky
Opera Breve
  • artist:Philippe Quint & Lily Maisky
  • release year:2013
  • style(s):Romantic Period, Classical Music
  • country:Germany
  • formats:CD (Compact Disc), SACD (Super Audio CD),
  • record posted by:avanticlassic
  • label:Avanticlassic
  •   buy this record

For his new project with Avanticlassic, internationally acclaimed violinist Philippe Quint is joined by rising star pianist Lily Maisky for a unique recital featuring the most beloved Operatic transcriptions.
Recorded with the legendary 1708 "Ruby" Stradivari, Opera Breve will allow you to (re)discover such gems as Figaro's aria from Il Barbiere di Siviglia, ‘Una Furtiva Lagrima from l’Elisir d’Amore, Lensky’s Aria from Eugene Onegin, ‘Mon coeur s’ouvre à ta voix’ from Samson and Delilah and Jascha Heifetz's clever arrangements from Porgy and Bess.
Taped at the Teldex studio –famous for its legendary acoustic– in 5 HD channels, this program is not only a tribute to one of the leading violinists of our generation; it is also a feast to the ears. From the fiery virtuosity of la Vida Breve, to the overtly humorous Il Barbiere di Siviglia, Philippe Quint and Lily Maisky will offer you an exquisite hour with the most beloved opera aria transcriptions in superlative interpretations.