"GHCD 2409 Sir Malcolm Sargent" - Tchaikovsky

  • artist:
  • featured artist:
    Royal Philharmonic Orchestra, Philharmonia Orchestra
  • release year:
  • style(s):
    • Classical Music
  • country:
    United Kingdom
  • formats:
    • CD (Compact Disc)
  • record submitted by:
  • label:

  • buy this record

Sir Malcolm Sargent was one of four great contemporary conductors - alongside Barbirolli, Beecham and Boult - who dominated the British musical scene in the decades following World War II, and exceptionally he was invited by Toscanini to give four concerts in New York with the NBC Symphony - a measure of Sargent's quality. Sargent had a wide range of repertoire in which he excelled, particularly during the annual BBC Henry Wood Proms Seasons, and on this important CD release he is heard in an all-Tchaikovsky programme, including one of Sargent's most admired interpretations - the now rarely-heard 'Theme and Variations' from the Suite No 3, alongside the two great overtures. 'Romeo & Juliet' and 1812 and two other immensely popular shorter concert pieces.




Front Cover Booklet

Track List


Walz From Sleeping Beauty

Please wait! Loading in progress...please wait! upload in progress... it can take a while - depending on your internet connection