Ivan Ilic
The Transcendentalist - cover
The Transcendentalist - back cover


Alexander Scriabin's Prelude Opus 16 no 1 for piano, performed by Ivan Ilić
These are just preview samples. You need a valid account and be logged in to hear the full tracks
  • artist:Ivan Ilic
  • featured artist:Ivan Ilić
  • region:Île de France
  • release year:2014
  • style(s):20th Century, Contemporary
  • country:France
  • formats:Audio File / Digital, CD (Compact Disc)
  • record posted by:Ilic, Ivan
  • label:Heresy Records
  •   buy this record

THE TRANSCENDENTALIST (2014) is an exploration of meditative music. It traces a mood from miniatures of Alexander Scriabin to John Cage and Morton Feldman, to a new work by a young American composer, Scott Wollschleger.

John Cage once said: "I would like every man to fix their attention on themselves"; The Transcendentalist encourages this introspection. Through the patient, refined playing of Ivan Ilić, we have access to a contemplative world of inner calm.

THE TRANSCENDENTALIST was selected as a Critic's Choice by BR Klassik (DE), Swiss Radio Espace 2 (CH), Listen Magazine (US), and Classique News (FR). It was also a CD of the month of Sinfini Music (UK) and TGV Magazine (FR), won a Supersonic Award from Pizzicato Magazine, and garnered 5-star reviews from Harmonie Magazine (CZ) and Aachener Zeitung (DE). In November 2014 the album was nominated for the International Classical Music Awards for "Album of the Year". It was also mentioned by Forbes in their Top 10 New Classical Releases list for 2014.