Kostas Moschos


Born in Athens, he studied musical theory and composition in Athens, electronic music (H. U. Humpert), computer music (Cl. Barlow), music phenomenology and conducting (S. Celibidache) and musicology in France and Germany. He followed several composition seminars with I. Xenakis, P. Boulez, St. Reich, and KH. Stockhausen.
He is active as Composer, Researcher and Music Educator
As composer he has composed 60 pieces in several forms including music for the theatre, cinema, dance and interactive music installations. He is a pioneer of computer music in Greece starting using the computers in music from 1978 for algorithmic composition and real-time interactive installation systems. Hi has presented interactive computer music systems at ICMC in Cologne, Darmstadt Summer Academy, Patras Festval, Athens Petra percussion festival, “e-phos” festival in Athens, Computing in Music IV festival in Cologne etc.
He worked on several studios like the Electronic Music Studio of Music Academy in Cologne the ICEM in Essen and STEIM in Amsterdam, the studio of Basel Academy and in Athens. He has teached music and technology in several Universities and Music Academies, the Athens Un. of Fine Arts and he is actually teaching Music Technology at the Athens Conservatory. Since 1989 he lives in Athens where he is co-founder and director of the Institute for Research on Music & Acoustics (IEMA) and of the Greek Music Documentation and Information Centre.
As researcher apart the creative and computer music researches, he was involved on many other research projects like Composers Work Catalogues, The reconstruction of Ancient Hydraulic Organ, Automated Systems of Music Coding and Retrieval, The Acoustics of Open Theatres, Distance Learning of Music, Interactive Music Installations, Web Music Creation Interactions, Digitization of Music and Digital Music Archives.
He is member of the national committee for Music Education and the “Digital School” national project.

participating in

  • Classical:NEXT 2018
  • Classical:NEXT 2017
  • Classical:NEXT 2016
  • Classical:NEXT 2015
  • Classical:NEXT 2014