Orquesta Sinfónica de Galicia

Orquesta Sinfónica de Galicia
Orquesta Sinfónica de Galicia ©Marco Borggreve
Orquesta Joven Sinfónica de Galicia
Orquesta de Niños de la Sinfónica de Galicia
Coro de la Orquesta Sinfónica de Galicia
Coro Joven Orquesta Sinfónica de Galicia
Niños Cantores de la Orquesta Sinfónica de Galicia
Orquesta Sinfónica de Galicia ©Marco Borggreve

Line up

  • Orquesta Sinfónica de Galicia (Orchestra)


With over 430.000 visitors and more than 3.300.000 minutes watched from its Youtube channel in 2014, the Galicia Symphony Orchestra (OSG) has rapidly established itself as Spain's most visited Orchestra on the internet.

Founded in 1992 by the A Coruña City Council is the resident orchestra of the city's Opera House and one of Spain's leading symphonic ensembles.

The orchestra, whose principal conductor since 2013-14 is Dima Slobodeniouk and Víctor Pablo Pérez as honorary conductor, comprises musicians from all over the world.

It has been the resident orchestra at the La Coruña Mozart Festival since its inception in 1998, and at the Pesaro Rossini Festival (2003-2005). Much in demand in Spain, where it has given concerts in the nation's premier concert halls and most prestigious festivals and concert seasons, the OSG has also toured Germany and Austria on several occasions. In 2007 the orchestra went for the first time on tour to South America, with concerts in Chile, Argentina, Brasil, Uruguay and Montevideo, and at the end of 2009 the orchestra made his debut at the Musikverein historical hall in Vienna.

Some of the world's leading soloists have collaborated with the OSG as performers in its concerts, such Anne-Sophie Mutter, Maurizio Pollini, Krystian Zimerman, Gil Shaham , Sarah Chang, Grigory Sokolov, Leonidas Kavakos, Arcadi Volodos, Maria Joao Pires, F. P. Zimmermann, Mischa Maisky or Christian Lindberg being amongst the many who have appeared in its concert programmes. Singers who have shared the stage with the ensemble include Alfredo Kraus, Teresa Berganza, Plácido Domingo, María Bayo, Ainhoa Arteta, Juan Diego Flórez, Simon Estes, Mirella Freni, Ann Murray, Amanda Roocroft, Ildar Abdrazakov, Heldegard Behrens, Eva Marton, Giuseppe Giacomini, Philip Langridge, Carlos Chausson, Raúl Giménez, Isabel Rey, Carlos Álvarez, Ana María Sánchez o Giuseppe Sabbatini, to name a few, and its impressive roll-call of guest conductors such as Lorin Maazel, Sir Neville Marriner, Michail Jorowski, Daniel Harding, Gennadi Rozdestvenski, Maurizio Pollini, James Judd ,Jean-Pascal Tortelier, Stanislaw Skrowaczeski, Libor Pesek, Peter Maag, Jesús López Cobos, Osmo Vänskä, Alberto Zedda, Emmanuel Krivine, Yoav Talmi, Raymond Leppard, Gabriel Chmura, Jean-Jacques Kantorow, Josep Pons, John Nelson, Gianandrea Noseda, Ron Goodwin and Manfred Honeck.

The orchestra has made recordings for the labels Deutsche Gramophon, Sony, EMI, DECCA, Koch, Naïve, BMG and Arts together with musicians of the stature of Juan Diego Flórez, Kaori Muraji, Peter Maag, Antonio Meneses, Iván Martín, Manuel Barrueco-with whom has been nominee to 2007 Grammy’s in the best classical album category-, María Bayo, Plácido Domingo, Juan Pons and Ewa Podles, among others.

The OSG has been awarded with the Real Academia Galega de Belas Artes Gold Medal and also the Galicia's Highest Cultural Honour, Galician Culture Award in 2010.
The OSG receives funding from A Coruña City Council, the Province of A Coruña and the Regional Government of Galicia.