Simple Lines of Enquiry


Simple Lines of Enquiry, by Michael Chambers
  • event type:Classical:NEXT 16 showcase
  • date:26 May 2016
  • time:21:15 - 21:45
  • city/area:Rotterdam
  • venue:De Doelen, Jurriaanse Zaal (first floor)
  • country:Netherlands
  • event posted by:Piranha Arts


Eve Egoyan - piano
David Rokeby - filmography

‘Simple Lines of Enquiry’ is a composition written by Ann Southam and performed by pianist Eve Egoyan. David Rokeby’s slow-capture film of Montréal, Canada called ‘Machine for Taking Time’ accompanies Southam’s music.

Rokeby’s film records the passing of Montréal’s seasons, from budding spring to frozen winter. From a mounted rooftop camera, passersby appear and then dissolve into the landscape. Sunlight flares and recedes, trees transform from barren, to full, to rusty and radiant.

Pianist Egoyan teases out long, resonant lines from Southam’s music. Each musical gesture moves in synchrony with Rokeby’s shifting landscape. ‘Simple Lines of Enquiry’ reveals itself slowly, uneasily, with an ever-present threat lurking just outside the frame.