The Night With… // Composer /

  • You must be logged in to see the company address and website.
business contact
  • You must be logged in to see the business contact.

The Night With... is a concert series based in Scotland begun in 2016 by composer Matthew Whiteside. It is a salon style series presenting interesting classical music in intimate, informal venues (often pubs, clubs and art galleries). Since inception the series has included 16 concerts featuring 14 world premières by Juice Vocal Ensemble Red Note, James Turnbull, Wooden Elephant, Turning the Elements, the Aurea Quartet, Joanna Nicholson, Carla Rees, Emma Lloyd, Tom Poulson and Danielle Price.

“As someone who enjoys listening to classical music, but doesn't really go to many classical music events, The Night With... was perfect for me. Loved hearing the new work performed live and the informal surroundings it was presented in.”

Matthew Whiteside is a composer and Artistic Director of The Night With… Based in Glasgow he was named ‘One to Watch’ in the Herald’s Culture Awards 2017 and won the Light Moves Innovative Use of Sound Award for his work Entangled with Marisa Zanotti.
Recent work has included a short opera Little Black Lies commissioned by Scottish Opera Connect, with libretto by Helene Grøn, Entangled commissioned by the Institute of Physics for the 2018 NI Science Festival and working with filmmaker/chorographer Marisa Zanotti developing a new piece with Magnetic North for ensemble, film and VR. In 2019 Matthew will release an album of string quartets with support from Creative Scotland.



participating in

  • Classical:NEXT 2022
  • Classical:NEXT 2019
  • Classical:NEXT 2018
  • C:N NET


You must be logged in to see the company members.


"Entangled" - Matthew Whiteside