Innovation Award 2018

We are happy to present to you this year’s three recipients of the Classical:NEXT 2018 Innovation Award: Aurora Orchestra from the UK, Carbon-free Lahti Symphony Orchestra from Finland, and Les Talens Lyriques’ t@lenschool from France. The 23 expert members of our international nominating committee narrowed down the 28-strong longlist to create the Classical:NEXT 2018 Innovation Award Shortlist of twelve of the most forward thinking and exciting projects in the classical world today.

The recipients were chosen by a voting of the Classical:NEXT community. Everyone with a C:N NET account was able to vote. The recipients were revealed and the awards presented at the closing ceremony of Classical:NEXT 2018.

This year for the first time, our Nomination Committee were given a theme for their selections. They were asked to choose the most outstanding projects involved with orchestras or large ensembles. The focus could be narrow or wide, the connection direct or indirect.

The innovation award closed with the Grammy-winning vocal project Roomful of Teeth.


Nominating Committee

Roomful of Teeth

About the Innovation Award

Longlist, Shortlist, Public Vote - How it works: After each nominating committe member has named their choosen projects, the same experts then vote collectively to reach a ten-strong shortlist. Once the shortlist has been determined you - the delegates - will have your say. The entire Classical:NEXT community, made up on more than 4,000 delegates who have attended Classical:NEXT since 2012, have the opportunity to place an online vote to decide the recipients of the Classical:NEXT Innovation Award 2018.

The Classical:NEXT Innovation Award was a new initiative to the 2015 edition, designed to place the spotlight on forward-thinking activities taking place around the world. It is intended to inform music professionals about worthwhile experiments and approaches taking place beyond their own respective national scenes or from locations which receive much publicity. It also strives to create a level playing field for all, regardless of budget, status or influence.

This award aims to give international recognition to the people who are doing the most to push things forward with daring yet intelligent, effective and successful “out-of-the-box” thinking, planning and action. I firmly believe the time has come to add such a distinction to the list of already existing awards. As with Classical:NEXT itself, the Innovation Award is a global, democratic, community effort.

Jennifer Dautermann, Classical:NEXT Director